Birthday Updates

And so I officially turned 27 this week *shudder*. The big 30 doesn’t seem too far now. Yet can’t get over the mindset of a 12 year old.

27 long years on the face of earth making a difference to people who care. God I really feel so old now. Time catches up too soon. The last I remember I was giving sermon to a friend about how to never let the kid in you die and here I am, prodding on getting older and (hopefully) wiser.

Since I had been celebrating this day with all pomp and show for each year of my life, I thought let’s try and act mature and have a quiet birthday for a change. No indulging too much in myself and no more noisy parties. And also no more shopping uselessly.

But the resolve soon faded as the birthday neared. Before I knew I was out there pampering myself with massages in the salon. To Mr. husband’s bewilderment I spent 3 hours of my Sunday afternoon there. Totally worth, I say. Then began our shopping expedition and we spent a bomb! Mr. Husband is a shopping enthusiast and I shop only when needed. What?! It was my birthday, an occasion to shop.

Then came parties. I even had a pre birthday dinner with family so that I can spend the birthday with Mr. husband at someplace fun. I am totally in for new places. Not really a foodie but a great ambience is always welcome. Oh! Did I hear you say 2 treats already? Yes. And the third one was with office colleagues which I celebrated by gorging into authentic Chinese. And one more party with my cousins is to come this weekend. The pockets don’t permit else would have loved to party with friends too. Never mind too many wild ways, after all you live only once and birthdays are just an excuse. About being mature?! And quiet? That’s an issue I would love to push for another year.

And did I say that I the best part about birthdays is gifts and cakes?! Oh totally!! I got a sparkling watch and a super awesome diamond pendant from my parents. Mr. husband (for the first time since I know him) tried arranging surprises. He gave me a personalized table clock and a huge bouquet delivered to my office. Both of these surprises. First timers again! He is always into gifting ‘useful’ things so these gifts come as surprises really. I don’t mind at all. If you be good and don’t remind me about the calories I have consumed, I will let you know that I cut 3 different flavored cakes and had them too. Totally yummilicious. The best gift that I got on my birthday was the increment in my profile and salary. Pretty generous it is. Although it does come with additional responsibilities and work load, but I am not complaining at all. After all work is worship, and when worship increases your bank balance, do it more I say! 😀

All in all, one more fabulous birthday spent. Life seems a party with such days. Just if you could stop the growing up process, it would be icing on the cake! 🙂

About Shweta

An ambitious professional who loves working in a corporate as much as she loves spending time with family. Pursues writing as a passion and writes for stuff that closely touch the heart! Mom to a little mister curious!
This entry was posted in Chapters of Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Birthday Updates

  1. Heta Gala says:

    Should have included a picture of all the gifts 😉 . Super gifts and big surprises made your day:-)

    Like

  2. Pfft…27 is young! I turned 30 earlier this year and trust me, it’s not so bad! 😀 Sometimes you grow and figure yourself out better closer to 30. And sounds like an amazing birthday….sorry birthweek celebration! Happy birthday!

    Like

    • Shweta says:

      Thanks Psyche Blabber.. I have read your 35 by 35 bucket list and all I have to say is awesomeness…

      About the age.. Each year I keep cribbing about growing up.. That’s just me and that’s just how much I hate growing up. Aging is perfectly fine by me! Hope I be the same on the other side of 30!!

      Amazing it was.. Yes.. The week ain’t over yet! *wink*

      Like

  3. Anu S says:

    You had a Perfect B’day….Belated B’day Wishes from my end….)

    Like

Leave a comment