Vacations!

Yesterday morning, the Monday Blues were severe than ever. More so because I was recently back from Mom’s place after my vacations. I was forever in a lazy mode for the whole week!! When at home, I was a perfect example of a buffalo lying in the pond! I only left the jhula (swing) at my mom’s place for drinking water. That too, when the brother was not around to pass me the bottle.

So, it was difficult for me to wake up, cook, care and take on to my responsible adult hat! Just last week I was baby of the family and had my tiffin ready for me before it was time for me to leave the house. Breakfast table set, a seven course meal in my dabba filled with lots of taste and maa ke haath ka pyar! Thank you, Mom! You are the reason of my vacations being truly relaxing. Who needs a spa when you can have an awesome head massage with her firm hands! Her home cooked food can give the restaurants a run for their money. The opulent house that is the pride of Papa is way more relaxing than any resort!

It’s amusing that a life so laid back, that you always took for granted, has now gained so much importance that one week is all I need to re-energize. True, that the simplest things in life are generally the most pleasurable. From the days starting with the shouts of Shweta your tiffin is ready, wake up or you’ll be late for work… To the nights ending in daddy’s hugs and a quick movie with the Brother amidst his gossips… the sweet reminder that a spinster’s life was not bad really! But having Mr Husband and The sister in law, only adds to the pleasure of being around people you love!

However lazy I might be, I knew I had to make up for all the unconditional pampering that Mom had given me for the entire week. She loves shopping. So I took her out to window shop majorly in the markets where we used to roam aimlessly during my spinster days when we had nothing better to do. Shop by shop, we went hopping as if shopping would soon go out of fashion and this was our last chance. We finally ended up buying some kitchen innuendos and dining table mats! However petty it might be, shopping is shopping! And it is not complete until you slowly unwrap each parcel and display it on the bed. Taking in the visual of your wares and seeking pleasure. And we did just that!

Having a family around is God’s little way of showing you how fortunate you are, to be loved, pampered and cared for. To have something worth to fight for. To realize that no matter how many years, some things never change!

About Shweta

An ambitious professional who loves working in a corporate as much as she loves spending time with family. Pursues writing as a passion and writes for stuff that closely touch the heart!
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

