Bringing in the fourth year…

We celebrated the third birthday of our wedding a couple of days back. THREE. A big number. Mr. Husband was in his most unusual form and I couldn’t have asked for a better anniversary. He is the one who isn’t really excited for planning surprises since he feels the best way is to gift something of one’s own choice. So my presents generally involve him taking me for shopping my own gift! And I am the one who is always keeping secrets and planning inane stuff for him!

This time, however we had a role reversal. I did not really plan anything special. Behaved mature and expected nothing but dinner at some new and fancy over priced restaurant charging more for its ambiance rather than its food! Never mind since, boss, anniversary and all that jazz! All was routine till the clock struck 12. I had an intuition that Mr husband was planning something what with all his hush hush phone calls and stuff. I was sure it was nothing but a “surprise” cake cutting plan with cousins and friends around. Because that’s where surprises end for him! Not being ungrateful, but that’s how he functions!

I geared myself up for it! But when no one turned up we retired in our room, a little dejected that I assumed my surprise. But I was in for more! Mr husband had a fabulously decorated bouquet with cosmetics he knew I wanted to buy! The rogue! He planned it with one of my closest friends and the sister in law, since he ain’t an expert on what quality and shades to buy! When I was still getting over the awesome feeling of a ‘surprise’ gift so thoughtful, he revealed that he had booked us a weekend trip in Pune! I couldn’t believe him until I saw the confirmation mail myself! Exhilarated already!! What a start to the fourth year!

We had a fabulous stay and should I add the best feature of the stay was the soak tub in our extra large room where I lay listening to music like the world has stopped! And also the dinner date with him on our anniversary night, all decked up and ready for fine dining. And much much more of which details need not be divulged. *wink wink*

Whats more! Even the return back from the trip was more than satisfying given the sudden change in weather. Cool winds with rain showers on our way made it a pleasant drive. The weather accompanied with our little sun roof car altered my mood and I was back to being a kid again, with Mr. Husband driving on expressway and I leaning out of the car with the wind in my hair and a huge grin on my face!! Life’s little pleasures.

Sometimes this is all you need to de-stress…and of course, an amazing Husband! Cheers to our being three! May the madness continue 🙂

About Shweta

An ambitious professional who loves working in a corporate as much as she loves spending time with family. Pursues writing as a passion and writes for stuff that closely touch the heart!
This entry was posted in Chapters of Life, Travel Tales and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bringing in the fourth year…

  1. Heta Gala says:

    A big thumbs up for neil 👍. Simple and a nice surprise👌.Also, Long drives with your special one always makes me happy😊. Once again Belated Happy Anniversary to both of you 😀

    Like

  2. Shweta says:

    Thanks so much Heta! Yes long drives are my favorite too! 😀

    Like

  3. Congratulations and wishing you many many more! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

