Maid in India!

No. There is no spelling error in the title of this post. And contrary to what my readers may assume, I am very much here. Just that my life at this point defines chaos so aptly that I have been absent from the blogging scene since a while. And yes, If there are people who missed my posts a teeny weeny bit, Just for you’ll I say…I missed blogging too!

I never in my wildest dreams I imagined, but this post is about one of the most important people in my life. No, not my family or friends, it is the one I almost took for granted until she stopped existing. It’s our housemaid. She was on a leave for visiting her native for 10 days. It is now almost a month and princess hasn’t returned yet. With no phone calls or contact whatsoever! To make matters worse, there is no maid “free” in our locality to take up more work!

We have been looking for replacements since the day she left. Mother in law has spent afternoons near the presumed gossiping joints of the maids. The pan wallah, the watchman and the dhobi in our area are now very well aware of our Bai woes… But they just sigh in acceptance of the fact that being a maid is perhaps the only profession where recession has no effect after all! In the worst of nightmares, it never dawned to us that finding a maid would be so difficult. It even sounds silly to my own ears. But only after tasting the bitter truth, I am now very well aware about what it means to be prepared in advance.

There are so many household chores to be done before leaving for office, that by the time my day begins at work, I am already tired and waiting for Friday! The work in office is no less taxing. Some days my brain feels like a labour on a construction site! These days, even Fridays don’t excite me; since the maid is on leave, weekends mean more laundry to be washed and more cleaning to be done! Phew! Can’t really decide whether I am better off at office or home!! I am sure someone above is having a good laugh at my expense. After all, the best humour stems from real life experiences. I now know that best!

I desist changes. I am more comfortable with normalcy around me. And since this maid has been on leave, my world has taken a haphazard turn. Chaos all around. Why are there only 24 hours in a day?! I find myself running all the time. Gosh! So much for a maid! Since when did we condition ourselves to be so dependent on somebody that their absence turns our routine upside down. Sad but true. Please come back soon. And you all out there, please pray!

Just this much for now, the floor mop waiting for me. Ta daa!

About Shweta

An ambitious professional who loves working in a corporate as much as she loves spending time with family. Pursues writing as a passion and writes for stuff that closely touch the heart!
This entry was posted in Blah-Blah! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Maid in India!

  1. Heta Gala says:

    Aw 😝..
    Don’t worry, if you don’t find any maid soon, you would be trained as one of them by the time 😜.
    Be patient and give some time, things would be fine. 😌

    Like

  2. hemangfans says:

    Always keep more options … like 2 maids … each doing different work.. so that in absence of one the other can compensate 🙂

    Like

  3. parul shirodaria says:

    We both r sailing in the same boat , …..
    Mine is away from 8 days ….

    Like

  4. Gosh! That’s a tough situation to handle and I wish you get out of it soon 😉
    Maids are “made” in India and they are life savers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

