Jullay from the land of Gompas!!

Too much happiness is making me gibberish. The title translates to “welcome to the land of monasteries”

For the unawares, I am just back from the much anticipated trip of Ladakh. And boy, was it fun?! I don’t have an adjective to describe the beauty and serenity of the place. The moment you step in the Land of the lamas, you experience and an exhilaration that is just indescribable.

After I woke up from my groggy sleep on the 1 hour flight from Delhi to Leh, the sight I witnessed from the flight made me aware that I was transferred to entirely a different world. The 8 days I was there, were full of colors and mountains. No concrete jungle to remind me of the city I live in. You wake up to a view which is something like this.

The view from our Hotel Window

I never was aware that there are so many stars in the sky. I never knew that the sun can burn so blindingly bright, yet the winds can keep their cool and compete with the sun. I never before had felt pride of a litter free place. I never had seen the precision with which the mountains made curvy paths for you to travel. I had never seen that mountains were capable to reflect so many colors… Yellow of the sun… Brown and grey of the sand… Blue of the sky… Black of the stones… Green of the trees… It is truly a place if you want to believe that cleanliness (in India) and tourism can co-exist. It can show you how nature and humans can make peace and work hand in hand.

Oh! Just realized I got so carried away that I couldn’t stop typing. Not editing that a bit because it was exactly what I felt.

On a more thoughtful note, I also learned to take things as they come. I was baselessly paranoid about my health due to the lower oxygen levels in the cold mountain desert. Only the day that we landed there, me and Mr Husband suffered mild uneasiness and headache, but it was all OK once we had loads of water and sleep. Our body has an amazing power to acclimatize and adapt to the lower oxygen levels. The rest of the trip was as amazing as it could have been.

We drove to an altitude of more than 18k feet and crossed the world’s highest motorable road, Khardungla pass to reach the beautiful Nubra valley. We rode double hump camels and played in the huge Hunder sand dunes before resigning in our beautiful tents. We enjoyed a campfire under the only light of the innumerable stars and the milky moon. We woke up to cattle grazing and donkeys braying outside our tents. I was amazed when our driver told us that the world’s top 3 motorable roads are in India. Such pride! We even visited the numerous monasteries for which Leh is famous for. The peace and quiet there left me overawed. The monks in their reds and yellows and clean shaven heads praying serenely to the gold Buddha Statues were a sight to behold. The nuns and monks were even as young as 6 years of age.

And the most beautiful visual that I ever have experienced is the Pangong Lake. The camera can never do justice to this place. Breathtakingly beautiful. And serene. And Windy. So many colors in just one landscape. Awesome is just the word.

Ladakh, for one, is a destination that leaves you spell bound. From steep curves of the mountains to melting glaciers and clean flowing river, it has it all. The climate is so unpredictable that the sun may show all its glory one day and the next it will pack its bag and let the clouds be on duty. Cold winds with snow and hails may await your next destination. All in all, a place just not worth missing if you want to capture some picturesque memories.

I may do a picture post on Ladakh, but for starters, here are some colours that I tried to capture with my lens:

The Hunder Sand Dunes

Dramatic Skies in Nubra Valley

Thiksey Monastery

On the way to Khardungla Pass

Beacause the world is my stage… Hunder Sand Dunes

Mesmerizing Pangong Lake

Camping in Nubra Valley

Staring into infinity

Panorma of colors

About Shweta

An ambitious professional who loves working in a corporate as much as she loves spending time with family. Pursues writing as a passion and writes for stuff that closely touch the heart!
This entry was posted in Travel Tales and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Jullay from the land of Gompas!!

  1. Wow! I just feel like packing my bags right now and leaving!!! Amazing pics..

    Like

  2. rahilvora says:

    Superb
    Its tempting
    Now have to get double n plan a visit !!!

    Like

  3. Anonymous says:

    Shwets its simply awesome !!!! Thks for the perfect glimpse of the heaven on earth !!!!!

    Like

    • Shweta says:

      Your welcome!!!
      When I visited it… I had the same thought in my mind… If there’s got to be a heaven… It would be something similar to this!! 🙂

      Like

  4. Heta Gala says:

    Superb in a word 😉

    Like

  5. RUSHABH SHAH says:

    It is an awe-inspiring sight nevertheless…. super pics…

    Like

  6. Mansi Barbhaya says:

    Wow!!!its really amazing …feel like to visit it..Beautiful captured…

    Like

  7. Wow!! Such a great post!!
    I so want a trip to leh!! Wish I get it super soon!!

    Like

  8. Maniche says:

    Very perfectly articulated!! Cudnt have been described better!

    Like

  9. tushky369 says:

    I agree with,ur quote as I had been thinking from last 3 to 4 yrs to visit leh n ladhak, coz I feel no camera can gives u such feelings like a real eyes , n when u see that, many question cums in ur mind n u keep wondering like, is this place exist on earth , u try to pinch ur self I m I really there r m dreaming , oh what a wonder of god , u have got no words to express ur feelings , in a short I would say “infinite” beauty of a creator” by the way i m happy that u been there n in India there r lots of place which has such a beauty n u shud go n tour once in a yr

    Like

  10. Kavita says:

    I am impressed with your write up. I have been to this area two years back. I took the different route starting from Delhi via Manali by road covering Sarchu, Leh, Pangong, Nubra valley, Kargil, Drass, Srinagar, Gulmarg, Pahalgam and came back to Delhi via Jammu.
    It was a memorable trip- an out of world experience. The nature was in its raw and beautiful form. Sometimes it was intimidating as in Sarchu or as benevolent as in Gulmarg. Specially the road Manali onwards was a feast to the eye. Every 50 kms the scene and vegetation was changing.
    Try this route and you will not not be able to thank me enough.

    Like

    • Shweta says:

      Hi Kavita. Thanks for the suggestion. Actually we did plan a road trip via manali but since we didn’t have our friend’s group with us and had to join the tour operators… We dropped our road trip plan and went ahead as per their itinerary!

      Like

  11. Thisisme says:

    i have been a lurker on ur site for quite sometime and i really enjoy reading ur posts!
    Leh Ladakh is my fave tourist destination in india! and its almost unbelievable that it is part of india!!
    My Ex was from ladakh and i once visited his native place n its left a lastng impression on me!
    it was an unbelievable experience and though we separated but that place has a very special place in my heart! 🙂

    Like

    • Shweta says:

      Hi Lurker! Glad to know that you enjoy my posts!!! And super glad to know that this post bought you to comment on my blog! Thanks so much…
      And dating someone from this beautiful place would have been a wonderful experience I assume! Ladakhis are wonderful hosts!!

      Like

  12. Pingback: Bucket List Review – 2014 | Life's Little Banter

Leave a Reply

