Reunion and Nostalgia

Finally all the nostalgia paid off and I went to my college reunion which was held for the celebration of 50 successful years of NM college. Five friends, one car, loads of memories and gossips followed. We weren’t really excited to visit the college as much as meeting each other. Time is a scarce resource and once you get an opportunity to spend a girls day out… why will you not?!

Roaming lazily through the college corridors hit us with a fresh wave of nostalgia and we were instantly transformed from the very matured married women to giggling college girls. We roamed the corridors and were surprised that how much the class rooms and interiors were changed in just a span of 5 years! What had not changed though were our obsession for pictures and gossips! Thank God it remained the same else this wouldn’t have been half fun a night.

I was really amazed to find people from the older batches join in the reunion. As old as pass outs from 1970s. I felt petty on seeing the zest and sportiness they possessed. The only thing I would want to is to keep this flame within for the next 30 years and attend when my college turns 75!! Commendable it is…

The next we did was to gorge on the food stalls we flogged as students. The flavor and the smell exactly the same as earlier. For once I wasn’t counting my calorie intake. OK for that matter I never count. Writing this just made me sound wiser and so I did!!! Weight is never an issue. It has only one feature. To rise upward!

All in all, a girly day of gossips, laughter, madness, clicking pictures accompanied with a tad bit of family planning talks. *Shudder*. Gone were the days when our conversation revolved around cute guys… they have now effortlessly transferred to discussing making babies!!! Some things are bound to change and the only thing we can do is go with the flow but cherish old moments when life throws an opportunity!

Have you experienced such elation in meeting old friends or am I plain crazy?

About Shweta

An ambitious professional who loves working in a corporate as much as she loves spending time with family. Pursues writing as a passion and writes for stuff that closely touch the heart!
This entry was posted in Chapters of Life, Family, Friends and Me and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reunion and Nostalgia

  1. Pepper says:

    I usually run away from gatherings like these, especially reunions. Most of my classmates wouldn’t even notice my presence. I wasn’t very popular anyway. But I think your post succeeded in making me feel the excitement. Perhaps someday I will actually turn up for a reunion.. 🙂

    Like

    • Shweta says:

      Even I was amongst the unnoticeable lot during my college days…the only saving grace in the reunion being the crazy lot i called ‘friends’. Out of the 5 that we were, we mattered to no one else! 😛

      Times like this, are seriously a bliss. And you wont know this madness till you actually experience it!

      Disclaimer: Go ONLY if you have a set of friends you have fun with. You probably will end up just smiling at others 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

