Tastebuds

For all those who are new to this, I was diagnosed with jaundice which accompanied me for a whole one month. During this period I was on a ridiculously strict diet where spices, oil and ghee were not allowed to touch my food even from a distance. So all I ate was curd rice, khichdi, plain rotis with sugar, vegetable soup and boiled or raw vegetables. My mom tried and made every possible food item matching doctor’s advice on my diet preferences. But the foodie in me always cribbed on eating boiled food. So much, for preventing a relapse of the dreaded Jaundice. But I was so sick and tired of being ill that I went through all the phases of boiled food in silence (OK, cribbing occasionally about it) before the doctor advised me routine. The only food bearable was fruits! Thank heavens for apples!! The amount of apples and sugar canes I have consumed in this period has completed my fruit quota of an entire year, may be even two!!

When we went for a checkup the next time, I was totally and utterly disgusted by the ‘health food’. Come on, 3.5 weeks of boiled food for a foodie like me is almost a lifetime. But just because I wanted to divorce jaundice as soon as possible, I put up with all of this. It even meant, attending birthday parties, outings on my wedding anniversary, valentine’s day and a close cousin’s wedding; carrying a dabba of curd rice and vegetable soup.  Yes, it managed to screw up some of the best events in my life.

So when I went for an appointment with my doc, I was a bundle of nerves. I crossed fingers in my head and prayed to please start my ‘normal diet’. So much desperation makes me think people eat to stay alive and I may belong to the specie who lives because she can eat!! When did I transform to such a glutton, seriously??!! And finally the moment arrived. Check up done, everything seemed fine, doc was happy with the progress my liver showed but (still) did not say a word about my diet. Mr. Husband, knowing my dilemma was grinning like an idiot even when I was tongue tied. Eh, what would the doctor think of me? Do patients display their food cravings or was it only me? Finally, when I could no longer stay mum (and boiled!) I asked, “Doc can I start adding little spices, oil and ghee??? Am I OK to eat consume a little fat? Can I eat corn? Can I go off diet coz curd and rice and khichdi is almost making me sick again…” on and on and on I went! And the doc just said “k” (??!!) Here I was ranting and whining about my crave for ‘normal food’ and all he has to say is ‘k’??!!

On dwelling further, he explained and gave (a rather long) list of foodstuffs I can consume and the fried food which I cannot (sob sob, I miss u, my banana chips!! 😦 ) Nonetheless, I was happy beyond words. Toast sandwiches, vegetables with spices, boiled masala corn plate, dosas and idlis were already floating in my head. But I tried my best and kept a check on myself coz Mr. Husband was watching me with a hawk eye and gave me I-know-what-you-are-thinking look. I blushed and quickly burst my thought bubble and inquired a little uninterestedly about my medication to be continued. I wanted to win back a little grace if I could and not be touted as a glutton all the next times I visit him!

Tastebuds, I say, have possessed me completely. This may explain my ever increasing waistline. I can picturize days when I may look like a large, fat whale! Hope this is only an exaggeration. Sigh!!

 

This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda.

About Shweta

An ambitious professional who loves working in a corporate as much as she loves spending time with family. Pursues writing as a passion and writes for stuff that closely touch the heart!
This entry was posted in Blah-Blah! and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tastebuds

  1. hemangfans says:

    Good to see u back on track. Now since your illness is gone and made you look slim and trim so hope you will like to continue being the same.

    Like

    • Shweta says:

      Liking to be slim is a dream… But the rate at which my cravings are multiplying for junk… It will remain a dream only 😛

      And many kind people told me that being skinny doesn’t suit me well so I thought will give up on my diet.. *grinning*

      Like

  2. Heta Gala says:

    I am waiting for the day when i can see Mrs. Fatty Shweta … nice post !

    Like

Leave a Reply

