Happy Anniversary

27.02.2012. My wedding day. The day when I looked resplendent in my red, green and white saree. The day when I cried buckets, yet was the happiest than I had been ever felt in life. It has been 2 years to that day and still the memories are as fresh as it has happened just yesterday. The night before, sleep evaded me and yet I was as fresh in the morning as I could be. They say, the bride is nervous. I was, a tad. But more than that I was excited and happy and nostalgic. So much happiness in a day that it overflew from my eyes.

I remember the day clearly as it plays as a beautiful movie in my head. Mom waking me up with a weary smile. The house overflowing with guests and with loud debates about who will get ready first. The din stopping as I enter the living room. Everyone wanting a piece of me. Treating me as I was a way too delicate piece of glass and would break even with a soft breeze. Hugs and kisses not ceasing. Papa not looking at me in the eye with the fear of bursting into tears. The Brother busying himself in arrangements, so that a tear would not escape his eyes. All of it, is still so vivid, so clear.

The din that the dance and the baraat created. The awesomest varmala I had ever seen. The handsome groom (yes, Mr. Husband) who was awaiting my arrival. The way his eyes shone on seeing me, making me feel that I was looking like every princess that I had ever dreamt of. When the priest called out for the ceremony, my brothers and cousins, rushing me out to the doli they had decorated and carrying me on their shoulders. Like I said, truly a princess feeling! The emotional kanyadaan. The friends cheering during the pheras. The heart wrenching bidaai. The videos of which still make me cry.

No destination wedding, no fancy themes, no candid photo-shoots; yet my wedding was a dream wedding. And given a choice to change, I would want it to be exactly the way it was. Thank you Papa, for blessing me my dream. Thank you Mummy, for the beautiful outfit that was your brain work and all the efforts you put to make the wedding, The Best! and Thank you, Brother, for none of this was possible without you.

And as for Mr. Husband, a hug to let you know that however messy, irritating and stubborn you may be, but you are the one I want to be with in every life. Whether it may be to argue, to disagree or to love, it simply has to be *just* you! You make me believe that love isn’t about finding the perfect person, it’s about realizing that two imperfect people can make a perfect life.

From that day to this, it has been 2 years and you still make me go awww in surprise about how time has passed. A toast to more such glorious years ahead!

And for all the readers who were bearing with me all this while when I was on a nostalgic downpour, here are some wedding pictures 🙂

Papa's Girl

Papa’s Girl

Mom and Me

Mom and Me

 

The Brother knows the best

The Brother knows the best

One of my fave pics from the photo-shoot!

One of my fave pics from the photo-shoot!

 

The Princess Me

The Princess Me

The Kanyadaan ceremony

The Kanyadaan ceremony

 

In a bond...forever

In a bond…forever

Two pillars of my life

Two pillars of my life

Happy 2 years to me!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

About Shweta

An ambitious professional who loves working in a corporate as much as she loves spending time with family. Pursues writing as a passion and writes for stuff that closely touch the heart!
This entry was posted in Chapters of Life, Family, Friends and Me and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Happy Anniversary

  1. hemangfans says:

    Wishing you both a very Happy Marriage Anniversary !!!

    Like

  2. Heta Gala says:

    Awesome.!! You know you looked beautiful once and this was the day :-P.hehe.kidding. Anyways nicely described. Happy Anniversary my girl:-)

    Like

  3. Anonymous says:

    All D Best !!!
    Congrats !!!!! Happy Anniversary

    Like

  4. Pepper says:

    Happy Anniversary, Shweta. You made such a gorgeous bride. Those were beautiful pictures.
    I felt a tad sad reading about all the times your family had to hide or hold back their tears. I really wanted my family to cry for me during my wedding, but nobody did! This, when my wedding was making me move to the US. I didn’t cry, neither did the parents. We were all laughing at all times
    I hoped people would cry for me atleast at the airport when I was leaving, but nope. More smiles everywhere. I still tell them they didn’t cry cos they didn’t care about my absence Lol
    Your lovely post brought back so many memories Here’s wishing you many more happy years.

    Like

    • Shweta says:

      Thanks Pepper… I cried and cried and cried…so much that the makeup got smeared!! Now when I look back, I don’t know why I cried so much. Emotional fool that I am, tears come naturally to me! And that, even though my parents live 10 mins away from me! 😀

      As for your folks, everyone has a different way of portraying their happiness! I have seen gorgeous brides not crying a drop when her mom is on a downpour 😉

      And the Brother was the best. He kept on consoling me throughout and cried after our car left! It got captured in the video!

      Thanks for the wishes! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

