Homosexuality – An Opinion

So, finally the verdict. Homosexuality is a crime – verdict delivered by the apex Supreme Court in India.

I do not get my head around this judgement and am utterly disappointed. I am not saying that I advocate homosexuality, but it is a matter of one’s owns choice. Why should a decision between consenting adults be termed as a crime? Why can’t one have the freedom of expression and choose a partner by themselves? I agree, this may not go down well with people who are supporting the judgement. But my concern is the criminalization of a decision which is taken by consenting and mature adults.

Though, in a society where we live, hypocrisy still prevails. When I see people not being granted the free will to marry someone they love, just because it is an inter caste marriage, when I see honour killings on the rise, rapes and female foeticides in broad daylights, living-in considered as a sin, prostitution not legalized, sex discussions being a taboo; I notice that the judgement passed on homosexuality is in the favour of breeding such a society further.

This verdict will just provide fodder to more closet relationships and a hypocritical society. It will just see frustration on the increase. It will further be the reason why homosexuals are looked down upon and made fun of.

The only saving grace is seeing the wind of change where people are opposing this judgement. I hope the society we dwell in is more peaceful and accepting towards different people. I hope things change soon. I hope that people are welcomed by open arms irrespective of the caste, colour or sexual orientation. I know this may well be a hope against hope. But I still Hope. Because Hope is all I have. Sigh! 😐

And as for the verdict – Disappointing and Frustrating.

About Shweta

An ambitious professional who loves working in a corporate as much as she loves spending time with family. Pursues writing as a passion and writes for stuff that closely touch the heart!
This entry was posted in Thoughtful Me and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Homosexuality – An Opinion

  1. Heta Gala says:

    This is actually disappointing!How could court just make judgement on someones choice! And really its one step success for those people who live in present world with their *** orthodox thinking.

    Like

  2. hemangfans says:

    Supreme court has so many other cases pending and they seem to be more interested in giving verdict for such cases.

    Like

  3. Amit says:

    I was expecting the Supreme court to show better sense. Come to think of it, even if they would have ruled it in favour, it would have taken decades for the mindset of the people to change.

    Like

  4. Veens says:

    ****Though, in a society where we live, hypocrisy still prevails. When I see people not being granted the free will to marry someone they love, just because it is an inter caste marriage, when I see honour killings on the rise, rapes and female foeticides in broad daylights, living-in considered as a sin, prostitution not legalized, sex discussions being a taboo; I notice that the judgement passed on homosexuality is in the favor of breeding such a society further.**** – I was nodding my head through these lines, you nailed it. I couldn’t understand what the court was thinking! Is this democracy?

    Like

Leave a Reply

