Diwali 2013

I know I am really late for a Diwali post! People are done and over with Diwali 2013 and sharing their experiences. The world has even started the preparations for Christmas and New Year! But the festival, this year, was so busy for me that the holidays went by in a jiffy. Let alone the holidays, even the week after was just that. Mad Rush! This is not really a rant, I rather take it as an experience, albeit a tiresome one! Phew! 😳

This was my second year of Diwali after being married. Both The Husband and Me are blessed with rather huge sets of extended families and loving cousins. So much so, that how much ever we try and exhaust ourselves we can’t seem to take out time for meeting everyone. Festivals mean a reason to get together and celebrate. This Diwali, we saw ourselves waking early in the morning, getting decked up and running at someone or the other’s place for lunch / dinner / get together. A Monday morning blue was never as severe as the socializing bit! Come night and my eyes were sore from wearing lenses the entire day, my back ached from the constant running around in heels and my face looked tired with all the day’s smiling. Not only me, even our refrigerator was tired being fed and bursting with sweets! 😆

Now if you ask me, was it worth all the pain? And I say Totally!! 😀 The Brother was here for Diwali and whenever I saw him in his smart kurtas, I couldn’t help but grin like an idiot at his sight! When Mr. Husband helped me in running around the house with errands, I couldn’t help but feeling blessed. When I saw both set of parents (my and Mr Husband’s) hale and hearty and gorging on sweets, I couldn’t help thanking someone up there for their wellness! When the house was filled with the careless laughter of my innumerable cousins, I couldn’t help thanking my luck for being blessed with so much love and innocence around. 🙂

All in all, the Diwali 2013 was a grand hit! Of course, I remember being stressed and tired and wanting to go back to a normal ‘routine weekday at office’ (!); but I also smile when I remember being amidst all the colour, chatter, blessings and gifts!! Wonderful Diyas, Lanterns, Sweets, Lights, Crackers, Squeals of laughter, days so bright which make you gape in astonishment! 😛

Nonetheless, the week after Diwali, I promised myself to sleep for long hours and rest to take the stress off me. But I ended up going for long drives and night outs with The Brother and Mr. Husband and our set of gang, I ended up celebrating a friend’s birthday at 12 in the night and returning late at home and being sleep deprived, I ended up watching a bakwaas Krissh 3 and later cursing and thinking that it would have been better to catch up on 3 hours of sleep! And before I realized, holidays, Diwali and one more weekend passed by, and I was still in my ‘zombie, sleep deprived mode’.

Why, on earth can’t I be a little organized and sleep on weekends rather than loafing around??! Gosh! 🙄

About Shweta

An ambitious professional who loves working in a corporate as much as she loves spending time with family. Pursues writing as a passion and writes for stuff that closely touch the heart!
This entry was posted in Family, Friends and Me and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Diwali 2013

  1. hemangfans says:

    Thanks for the wonderful lunch at your home on the New Year Day 🙂

    Like

  2. Kickass Kurtas.. thats all that u remember ehh..!!! 😛

    Like

  3. Tushar.Dhanwani says:

    God bless i appreciate your respect for ppl around 🙂 Even i am late to wish u , so happy diwali 🙂 🙂 hehehehe

    Like

Leave a Reply

