The near-perfect man

This is my entry for TOUCH Thursdays no: 3

The prompt: Anjali is a character in the book. She has dated 6 men and rejected all of them. She is still looking for Mr.Right. She feels it is hard to get what she is looking for. Write 3 things (or more)  that you really want from men.

Image

Men! A species from Mars when women are from Venus! There are bound to be difference of opinions and perspectives when these two collide. According to me, you cannot define Mr. Right because no such specie as THE PERFECT GUY exists. Neither do perfect girls exist! So I am being fair here. 😛 However, if you are lucky enough to spend your life with someone who is near perfect for you, consider yourself blessed. Comparing him to Mr. Right will definitely not be fair!

Having said that, there are certain things which I simply expect in my man: ( I don’t think the list can be completed in just 3 things, but I’ll try being reasonable in my request 😛 )

  1. Topping the list is he should love me for what I am. He should not expect me to change according to his needs and fancies. He should respect that I am an individual and I have my own likes and dislikes which may not be the same as his. Obviously, when you have to spend a lifetime together, gradually you need to seep in each other interests as a part of life. However, it just does not get around my head when a man expects a woman to change her life 360 degrees when she is with him. If he does so, all he is left with is a fake person accommodating his needs.
  2. He should love and respect my family. I am very close to my family and I get paranoid even if something little happens to them. I keep on fearing the worst! My man should love my family as much as he expects me to love his. I know, he has his parents to take care of, in which I will be accompanying him round the clock. However, if my family needs him, he should be there and should be as good as a son! Not only in the time of illness and urgency; but he should be around when they want to share their happiness with him and when my brother needs a close confidant.
  3. He should be my best friend. I rant and whine a lot. I blabber most of the day and about all topics under the sun. Someone listening to me when I am on ranting spree has a smoothing effect on me and cools me down instantly. He should also be able to express his innermost feelings to me.  That is what makes a relationship sound in the long run. Letting things build up inside you and suffocating yourself with frustration; strangles a relationship.
  4. He should be intelligent, witty and humorous. These features in a man are a great turn on for me. He should make me laugh maniacally till my stomach hurts. Humor should never fade out of his character.
  5. He should love me unconditionally. I am emotional. I am a crazy person. I am not fussy about clothes I wear. I love hanging around in my pajamas and cannot be dressed up 24/7. I hate applying make up. I am sometimes jealous. I am not a super human to manage everything correctly. I am not a computer who never makes mistakes. My thoughts, ideas and point of views may change according to situations. I love chocolate and cheese even if I am getting fat! Sometimes I need to wail and cry like a baby when I am on a venting out mode. In a nutshell, I am not perfect! My man should have the tolerance to bear with me, hug me and soothe me when I am down. He should not expect me to be someone who I am not and certainly should not want me to be perfect!
  6. He should be financially stable. Here I am not talking about a huge houses, cars, diamonds or holidays in a foreign land every year. Being financially stable for me means to lead a comfortable life. I would appreciate if we have a sound sleep at night and can talk about topics surrounding life other than discussing financial woes. of course, money is not the end of the world, nonetheless, it is important in life. I would be happily willing to share all responsibilities with him, monetary or otherwise.

Like I said, a short, reasonable and realistic list! 😛

About Shweta

An ambitious professional who loves working in a corporate as much as she loves spending time with family. Pursues writing as a passion and writes for stuff that closely touch the heart!
This entry was posted in Thoughtful Me and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The near-perfect man

  1. hemangfans says:

    nice … but i counted 8 points 🙂

    Like

  2. parul shirodaria says:

    Near perfect man in just one word …. Mature

    Mature enough to know the need of his life patner

    Like

  3. Tushar.Dhanwani says:

    Dont expect untill and unless u have those qualities and abilities 🙂 and, marriage is all about adjustment

    Like

Leave a Reply

